Retta Esplanade Park




C1887





Bayshore Lodge

The Bayshore Lodge is captured in this mural at 1900 N. Tamiami Trail Office Building.   It once stood on the harbor of Punta Gorda near where the PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites is today.  The house was built in 1897 and was the largest and finest home in town and occupied what was known as the most beautiful location in all of Punta Gorda.  When staying at the Hotel Punta Gorda, he decided to make this his new home and worked out a deal with the City Council to build a home in Harvey Park (Harvey & Cross Streets) with the agreement that it would revert back to the city upon his death.  The house was completed in 1897, was two stories with large verandas and was said to have cost 
$10,000.  He brought his wife, Marion, to live there in the winter of 1897.

Perry W. and Marion McAdow lived in a large home in Retta Esplanade.  Perry was a very wealthy gold miner who was confined to a wheelchair and he and his wife, Marian, retired to Punta Gorda.  Perry McAdow's business manager in most of his Florida businesses was Mr. Farrington.  His wife, Sadie Farrington, was best friend to Marion McAdow and after her husband died, she moved to a home closer to the McAdows to be closer to her friend.  The McAdow house is no longer standing.


Marion Avenue and Taylor - Punta Gorda Herald

 .  The first issue of the Punta Gorda Herald was published February 17, 1893.  Its original building was at Cross Street and Retta Esplanade located on the lower floor of a cigar factory, burned to the ground in 1895. The offices then moved to the location pictured at Marion Avenue and Taylor Street.   In September,  1901 the Punta Gorda Herald was purchased by Adrian P. Jordan. In 1913, Jordan built a new building on the corner of Taylor and Herald Court.   The building was used until it was damaged by Hurricane Charley in 2004.  The Herald SUN is currently located on Harborview Road in Port Charlotte.

Olympia & Cross Streets - First Baptist Church





t



This First Baptist Church structure is no longer standing.   Punta Gorda City Master file of demolished buildings shows it was constructed in 1909. It is an historical loss as it affected the early growth of the entire town.  It is currently an empty lot.  (2022)

The original congregation consisted of nine members. Among them were James L. and Mary Sandlin, James M. and Martha Sandlin Morgan, and Mrs. Nancy Linquish. Sandlin and Morgan donated to the Baptist congregation, two lots for a church to be built on the northwest corner of Cross and Olympia streets. The lumber for the new church was supplied by Morgan who operated a sawmill on Taylor Road near Alligator Creek. By 1893 the first issue of The Punta Gorda Herald noted that there was a Baptist Church Building.  It was also noted in the Herald of that year that Rev. T. J. Sparkman, pastor, conducted services every first and third Sundays.  

Over the years the Baptists added Sunday School rooms, a kitchen and dining room.  Still the original church building proved too small for the growing congregation.  In 1962, a larger sanctuary and attendant facilities were built at its present site on Gill St. The Crosland Chapel and Sunday school were dedicated January 28, 1962. The old pastorium was moved to the present site, but later torn down. With completion of the Crosland Chapel, the Cross Street and Retta Esplanade properties were sold to the Golden Rule Rebekah Lodge.

The building for a time served as a bridal store. It was badly damaged in Hurricane Charley and remains were demolished.



501 Shreve Street - the Calaboose



` Calaboose comes from the Spanish term calaboozo for jail or cell.  It was a common name for small holding cells found in many pioneer towns.  This 10 x 16 foot cage is made from riveted iron bands.  It served as the city jail from 1889-1928 when it was replaced by the county's first jail in the Charlotte County Courthouse on Taylor Street.  The iron bands of the calaboose were once covered by an iron roof.  The cage apparently had two swing-down bunks on either end.  The swinging front doors were locked by a padlock.  The apparatus was installed on Herald Court in downtown Punta Gorda.  The Calaboose ended its days on Jim and Patsy Parker's Washington Loop Ranch before being given to the Historical Society.  The Parkers gave the Calaboose to the Punta Gorda Historical Society in honor of his father, Edwin M. Parker, who was Mayor of Punta Gorda in 1941.  D&M Construction moved the Calaboose from the Ranch to town.

501 Shreve Street - Isaac Trabue




This cottage* was the law and land sales office of Col. Isaac Trabue, the founder of Punta Gorda.  It was built in 1886 in preparation of the Florida Southern Railway's extension of service to the new town of Trabue.  Col. Trabue gave Henry B. Plant, owner of the Southern Railway, 15 acres of his holdings in Trabue to entice him to extend his railroad line here.  The little structure served as a Post Office for half a dozen hopeful residents and 200 construction workers from July 1 to August 12, 1886. Nanny Scott of Cleveland, Florida was appointed postmistress in August of 1886 and the Post Office was moved to another location.  This building was originally located on a site to the rear of where the Freeman House is now located (311 W. Retta Esplanade).  It was moved and restored to a location on the corner of Marion and (125) Nesbit, near the Post Office in 1991.  *In November 2000, it was moved to the History Park. (501 Shreve Street, Punta Gorda, FL.) where it sits today.


400 West Retta Esplanade - Gilchrist Park

 





Col. Isaac Trabue* platted his town in 1885 and he dedicated the waterfront for public parks out of the navigable channel.  The shoreline was originally close to the edge of today's Retta Esplanade.  The City constructed a seawall in 1914 and backfilled it to create building lots for luxury homes.  After several lots were sold, the City discovered the dedication clause in Trabue's original plat and bought back the sold lots.  The site was landscaped and known simply as City Park.  In 1950 the park was named for Albert W. Gilchrist, one of Punta Gorda's original developers.*  He served as governor of Florida from 1909-13.  The Gazebo on Old Punta Gorda Point was built to replace an earlier Gazebo, built by OPG in 1985 , as part of a planned Living History Museum.  That Gazebo was torn down by the City to prepare for development of the area where the City Marina is now located. * See Hall of Honor in Punta Gorda History Center.

Gilchrist Park provides approximately twelve (12) acres of Charlotte Harbor waterfront just west of US 41 hosting a variety of active recreation opportunities, including, basketball, pickleball, tennis, and a children’s playground area.  Additionally, passive recreational activities include picnic pavilions, waterfront gazebo, and a fishing pier. 

311 Retta Esplanade

 



Calostimucu, the Indian statue is carved from the trunk of a monkey pod tree that died in 1973 by the artist Peter Toth.  Peter Toth has vowed to create an Indian statue in all 50 states to honor the Indian and to raise awareness of the damage prejudice and injustice have caused.  The statue is unique among folk sculptures.  It depicts a brave on one side and a maiden on the other.  Atop their heads is an emerging dream of a dying bison and an eagle trying to escape.  

311 Goldstein Street

   Built 1920.  As of October, 2025 Historic Preservation Board approved demolition due to hurricane damage .